The Club was founded in 1928 by Stelios and Stefanos Perdikojiannis, Meletis Kokkinakis, and Nikos Pandelakis. Until 1940 it was operating as an independent part of the Union of Athletic Associations of Iraklion, having Mr George Voiolas as president. In 1946 it became an independent club under the name "Tennis Organization of Iraklion" , commonly "TENNIS", with department of tennis and table tennis. Later in 1968 two more departments were added, basketball and volleyball, and finally the department of chess in 1978. In 1975 the club was renamed to "Iraklion Sports Club". Today the most active departments are: Basketball, Tennis, Table tennis, Chess. Links: Official Site
Prinos refuge at Prinos on Psiloritis mountain (Ida), is at 1100 metres. It can sleep 25 people, it has cooking facilities, two wood burning stoves for heating and a rainwater tank. Access is through the village of Ano Assites in Malevizi around 22km from Iraklion. From there a two kilometres of dirt road leads to a place called Melisses and then a one-and-a-half hour walk along a footpath signed with red marks, to the refuge. Prinos hut was built in 1962 and was renovated around 1992. It is run by the mountaineering club of Heraklion. The view from Prinos to the north and east is great.
18 holes in a desert course design. Each hole individually sculptured, seamlessly blending into the existing landscape...The new Bob Hunt masterpiece (head of design at the PGA Golf Management Ltd of Great Britain), is best described as a desert golf course hewn out of rolling landscape little more than half an hour from the international airport of Heraklion. It boasts a series of memorable holes that will test every aspect of a golfer's repertoire and offers stunning views over mountainous landscape that has hardly changed since the Minoan era back in 2600 to 1100 BC.