Priniás (GR: Πρινιάς) is a small village located 35km southwest of Iraklion town and 4km from Agia Varvara, at a height of 610 m above sea level. The village of Prinias lies on the border of three regions: Malevizi, Kenouriou and Monofatsi, and is recorded as forming part of all three regions in the censi.
Prinias figures in all the Venetian censi, in the Turkish one of 1671, and in the Egyptian one of 1834. In 1881, it forms part of the municipality of Kroussonas in the Malevizi region, with 225 inhabitants. In 1900 it is still in the same municipality with 348 inhabitants, and becomes a commune in its own right as of 1920. Nowadays, Prinias has 417 inhabitants.It is famed as being one of the prettiest villages in all Crete in one of the loveliest parts of the island
and its cemetery are one of the main attractions, as is the height known as 'Perdikokorifi'
with its unique panoramic view of the Heraklion prefecture.
An important reforestation
programme has been implemented and the 150.000 trees recently planted will add even greater beauty to the area.
In the Prinias valley, there are several large stones
(limestone) with peculiar shapes to which popular imagination has given different names such as 'The Old Woman's Cheese' or 'The Old Woman's Rusks'
and so on.
A little after the 25th
km on the Heraklion - Aghia Varvara road, one gets the best view of this valley.